Countries that start with k, countries beginning with the letter k

It’s a bit of a mouthful, but there are 6 countries that start with the letter ‘K.’ Some of these countries include: Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, and Kyrgyzstan. This letter is found in an alphabetical order in 12 different languages including Greek, Hindi, and German. It was once a common letter in English before being replaced by ‘Q’ and then later being dropped from the alphabet altogether.


In the heart of the Central Asian republics, Kazakhstan is a landlocked country that borders Russia, China, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, and Turkmenistan. Kazakhs make up almost 98% of the population and Russian is the largest minority language. Alongside Russia and China, Kazakhstan has one of the most extensive space programs in the world. Astana was chosen as capital city in 1997 and it houses many historic sites and museums.


Africa is a large continent consisting of 54 countries, and Kenya is one of those countries. Kenya is located on the eastern coast of Africa and borders Somalia to the northeast, Tanzania to the north, Uganda to the west, South Sudan to the northwest, Ethiopia to the southwest, and Somalia again on the southern border. The capital city is Nairobi and it has a population of 3.6 million people.


According to the CIA World Factbook, Kiribati is a small island nation in the Pacific Ocean composed of 33 atolls and one raised coral island. The islands are spread out across an area spanning 3.5 million square kilometers, meaning that the country has a low population density at 11 people per square kilometer. It should be noted that, while English is the official language of Kiribati, most people speak their native language.

Korea, South

Country Korea, South is an East Asian country situated in the southern part of the Korean Peninsula. The country that bordered by China to the north, Russia to the northwest, and Japan across the Sea of Japan to the east, was established on August 15th 1948.

Korea, North

North Korea is one of the most isolated countries in the world. It is one of the few remaining communist nations and has little to no diplomatic relations with the outside world. For years it has been suffering from famine, poverty, and deprivation. The United Nations’ food agency estimates that over 200,000 people died in the country last year alone due to starvation. The country’s political regime denied access to international relief organizations during this time.


The Republic of Kosovo is a country located in the Balkans, on the western part of Serbia. It is home to 1.7 million people. The majority of its population are ethnic Albanians and the national language is Albanian. Kosovo has been recognized by 113 UN member states, though not by Russia, China, Spain, Greece, Serbia or some other countries. The republic declared independence from Serbia in 2008 after more than 3 years of negotiations with Serbian authorities which did not work out.


Many Americans are not aware that Kuwait exists. With a population of 4.2 million people, it is the second smallest nation in the Middle East. Kuwait was founded in 1756 when Islamic tribesmen from Baghdad settled on the coast of the Persian Gulf. The country has been ruled by an absolute monarchy since 1932, with the current Sheikh being Sheik Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah.


Kyrgyzstan is a country in Central Asia. Its capital city is Bishkek. Kyrgyzstan has a population of over 6 million people. It became independent from the Soviet Union in 1991. The country’s official languages are Kyrgyz and Russian. The majority of the population are Muslims, but there are also Eastern Orthodox Christians, Buddhists, Hindus, and others living there as well.


Related Posts